Masterworks: Unpacking Fashion

All you need to know about the latest fashion exhibit at The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Okay let’s get this straight. The MET is a holy land of all things fashionable, artistic, and chic and this exhibit does not fall short of the explanation given. Though the fashion exhibits are held in the downstairs gallery of the MET, where it is small; the layout was seamless and comprehensive. Pieces by Vivienne Westwood, Christian Louboutin, Dior, Charles James, Tom Ford, and so on, flooded the floors. I took an endless amount of pictures of flashy dresses, contemporary industrial-like pieces, crazy shoes, and hideous 18th century dresses and intend to share many with you.

Fashion exhibits are a fashion students “frenemy”, allow me to explain. When I walk into a fashion exhibit I am filled with many emotions and very high expectations. When I leave I am filled with one of two things, anger because the exhibit lacked something very important or inspired because the art was mesmerizing. This exhibit left me entirely inspired, so much so that I spent the rest of that cold Monday sitting in Central Park people watching and writing in a journal. This is big for me because I hate being cold and will do anything to avoid it normally.

Without further adieu, the chicest and not-so-chic pieces from Unpacking Fashion.

img_5883

This piece was done by Alexander McQueen in the 21st Century. Though it looks like butterflies, it is actually hand-painted feathers stacked upon each other symmetrically to create this awe-inspiring masterpiece.

img_5914

This piece does not tell who exactly designed it, but it was made in the 19th century so we do have to give the designer a break. This dress is horrible, but believe it or not this was considered “fashionable” in the 1800’s. I know, right?

img_5900

Who designed this stunning, tweed skirt and jacket combo? You guessed it! Karl Lagerfeld of Chanel. Honestly, that is a dead give-away; a layup, if you will.

img_5894

Finally, the last piece I want to share it this one. Though confusing, that is what makes this one so special, it takes more than just a glance to understand its construction and I love a good challenge, so I was hooked. My final assessment of this piece by Viktor & Rolf is that it is a full-length, black velvet dress with the tutu piece added on top and then the longer tulle skirt is added to the bottom. It is a complex piece, but once you study it, like anything else, it really starts to make a whole lot of sense.

Leave a Reply

