My Reason to Write.

For as long as I can possibly remember, I loved to write. I had at least 5 diaries at a time and wrote down the contents of my day, from the time I woke up until the time I went to sleep. I included all sorts of things; where I went that day, how school was, who my new second grade crush was, you know, all the very important things an 8 year old goes through in a day. I even found myself writing songs (terrible songs, but songs) and performing them in front of my family in the living room. In third grade, I was published for the very first time, I had written a short story about shopping, no surprise there, and it made it into a book of young authors’ short stories. As I matured, my writing did as well. By the time 8th grade graduation rolled around I was felt ready to write the graduation speech that would be shared in front of all faculty, peers, and families. I worked incredibly hard and practiced the speech over and over in front of my mirror. I finally sent it in to my principal to be reviewed, and to my dismay I didn’t get the spot. At a young age this experience taught me never to be deterred from writing because off bumps (and sometimes mountains) that I needed to maneuver around.

I always thought of writing as just a hobby, something I could do when I was bored or had a lot on my mind. A year and a half ago, I realized I didn’t want writing to just be a hobby of mine anymore. I was more passionate about it than I had originally thought. The opportunity to write for a small online publication called, The Odyssey came at the perfect time, a time in which I was struggling to figure out what I wanted and who I wanted to be. I took the opportunity and ran with it, writing about things I have always wanted to and knowing that people would actually read them and hopefully relate to them. It was then that I realized how amazing it would be to be able to put the two things I loved most together, fashion and writing. It was then that I realized I wanted to be a writer at a fashion magazine with my very own blog. Recently, I have been lucky enough to land an internship at ELLE magazine and after a long time contemplating whether or not to do it, I’ve finally started to make headway on my own blog. I hope to eventually reach an audience of like-minded individuals who are passionate about fashion, but are also highly aware of the differences that need to me made to create a more sustainable fashion industry. It seems like lately everything has just been falling right into place.

Leave a Reply

